OpenFiction [Blog]

A professional transition

With profound gratitude for the opportunities I’ve been given at MIT, I want to share that I have accepted a new position as Operations Director for the OPENPediatrics program at Boston Children’s Hospital.  My last day at MIT will be March 31st.

I’ve always felt that my work at OCW might be a once in a lifetime opportunity to make a profound difference in the lives of people worldwide, and I am humbled to have found another opportunity to have such an impact.  Every year, more than 10 million children die of preventable causes, and OPENPediatrics (http://openpediatrics.org) seeks to address this challenge using the principles of open sharing and scalable education that animate OCW and MITx to improve the care of critically ill children on a global scale.

While I am excited by this new opportunity, I am sad to part ways with the many friends and colleagues who mean so much to me.  I will spend much of the next few years wondering (and maybe occasionally even asking) how the ODL and OCWC teams would have handled situations I will face.

I’m also sad to be unable to join my MIT colleagues in the engaging work that awaits ODL in the next few years.  Amid the uncertainty of the shifting higher education landscape and the organizational changes at MIT, I have total confidence in the amazing people brought together under the ODL banner.  I have no doubt that they will all do as they have always done–transform the way we think about the intersection of education and digital technologies, and how it can be used to make ours a better world.

I’m optimistic my new position will allow me to remain engaged in the open education community, and will regardless keep in touch with my friends at MIT and the OCWC.  Thank you again to the friends and colleagues who have made my work at OCW, the OCW Consortium, and the Office of Digital Learning such a wonderful experience.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. benjpjanssen51 said, on March 4, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    Hey Steve,

    Congratulations with your new job!
    Looks like a great and fantastic challenge.

    All the best

    Ben

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn iPhone

    Op 4 mrt. 2014 om 21:10 heeft “OpenFiction [Blog]” <comment-reply@wordpress.com> het volgende geschreven:

    scarsonmsm posted: “With profound gratitude for the opportunities I’ve been given at MIT, I want to share that I have accepted a new position as Operations Director for the OPENPediatrics program at Boston Children’s Hospital. My last day at MIT will be March 31st. I’ve “

    • scarsonmsm said, on March 4, 2014 at 8:17 pm

      Thanks so much.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

