OpenFiction [Blog]

Drafting – Bad habits

Posted in Uncategorized by scarsonmsm on July 7, 2005

What’s this?

When I haven’t been writing for a while, it’s painfully clear to me that I get “out of shape” in my writing skills. This usually expresses itself in poor description, a clear sign of which (for the first-person perspective of the novel anyway) is the bad habit of using “I looked at…” or “I watched…” rather than going straight into the description itself. The novel is deeply enough in the point-of-view of the main character that “I looked” is always implicit.

One advantage of the “double drafting” technique I’ve described before is that I don’t beat myself up too much on the first pass through a draft about these things, because I know I can get them on the second pass. It helps me to get over the feeling that all my writing is crap when I’m getting going again.

Leave a Reply

