OpenFiction [Blog]

So then it hits me…

Posted in Uncategorized by scarsonmsm on September 7, 2005

I just finished Free Culture–which I’m long remiss in completing–on the train. (The pace of my reading has slowed considerably lately as I try to find time for writing and tOFP and life in general, but that’s just an aside.) I have a thousand and one thoughts after finishing the book (not the least of which is that Lessig is to hard on himself about Eldred, but I’m sure I’d feel the same). But the thing that strikes me in light of my thinking on producer culture is that music companies are wasting their time fighting P2P. It won’t be P2P that kills them, it will be del.icio.us. As the costs of producing and distributing go down, and especially the costs of reaching an audience through peer referral systems such as deli.icio.us go down, artists will have less and less incentive to sign with media companies. Most musicians don’t make money anyway (nor do most authors or–especially–poets). All big media companies have to offer artists is promotion and distribution, and once most artists are proficient enough to do this via the web, the incentive to sign over their content to media companies will disappear. The effect over time ought to be a shift of content away from companies and back toward individuals.

Leave a Reply

