OpenFiction [Blog]

Rip-mix-burned out

Posted in Uncategorized by scarsonmsm on October 13, 2005

<rant>*I fully confess to having drunk the Apple Kool-Aid. I resent having to do anything in a PC environment, and feel lost in the world on days–like today–I forget my Shuffle (which has tOFP site master copy and my novel on it, in addition to my music). I may however, be unable to forgive the company if I hear “rip-mix-burn” applied to the creation of educational materials one more time. Mix in terms of creating educational materials just isn’t like putting together a mix CD for your girlfriend. One of the best observations I’ve heard about OCWs recently is that through the course and curricular structures, they show that people are still making extended and complicated arguments, that the world hasn’t completely disintegrated into sound bites. Sure, complicated arguments draw on prior works, often extensively. But they connect them, critique them, dissect them and debate them. I’ve had students turn in papers that were cut-and-paste jobs, and they don’t make for thoughtful essays. I’m not sure why people imagine teaching materials might be created in this way.</rant>

* from David’s joke.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This is why I can more easily imagine the creation of course materials with OER as a reference, not rip-mix-burn, process. Anyway, I’m sure there are examples out there, and it would be great to see a few. In the mean time, I’m going to assume it’s a matter of my own misanthropy. […]

  2. […] I’ve written before about the problems in applying the rip-mix-burn metaphor the creation of learning materials, but I suppose I should do so in a less impassioned and more reasoned way. Of course it is possible to use sampling and remix to create a new artistic whole, and possible to provide really effective critique and commentary by while doing so. But course materials typically operate more like an expository essay, where support is woven into an extended logical argument. The process behind this involves careful, systematic movement thinking through the argument, and the insertion and critique of evidence at appropriate places. […]


Leave a Reply

