OpenFiction [Blog]

Writing worth reading

Posted in Uncategorized by scarsonmsm on October 17, 2005

I’m really pleased today to add the first non-me addition to tOFP anthology: a fine story by a fine friend, “Tickle Torture,” by Tom McNeely. Outside of my wife, Tom is the best friend I made while at Emerson, and certainly the most talented writer I encountered. While in graduate school, Tom published a story, “Sheep,” in The Atlantic Monthly, that won recognition as one of the top 100 stories of the year (1996, I think) and was later anthologized in Best New Stories From the South. It was also included in the 20th Anniversary Issue of that anthology. “Tickle Torture” was another of the stories he was working on during that period, and was later published in Ploughshares. I’m honored he’s chosen to include it in tOFP’s anthology, and I’m certain there’s a lot I could learn from close attention to this story.

Leave a Reply

