OpenFiction [Blog]

International Internet Forum on Open Course Content

Posted in Uncategorized by scarsonmsm on October 26, 2005

I’ve been participating in a UNESCO online forum discussing open course content for about a week now (it has a few more weeks to go), and it’s quite interesting, though cacophonous. I’m really quite impressed with the range of initiatives out there–OER is a messy field, but aren’t most emerging ones? I’ve been trying to just track and sort out the issues being raised, and here’s a quick punch list. (Feel free to note any I’ve missed if you’re also following along):

• Access in developing regions
• Searchability
• Long tail distribution opportunities
• Interactivity and discussion forums
• Colonialism
• Quality control
• Localization
• Benefits to home campus
• The how not the what–technique rather than content
• Lifelong learning
• Certification-formal vs. informal learning

It’s dead on the list of things we’ve struggled with at MIT, which is good news. At least we’re not chasing phantom issues.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I always have an innately skeptical reaction, though, to the issue of collaboratively created courseware, and I felt it again in reading this. I’m completely open to the possibility that it’s simply a failure of my own imagination, but I’ve heard about it on the IIEP forum, and in various discussions with colleagues, and I keep having the same reaction. […]


Leave a Reply

