OpenFiction [Blog]

Wilms tumor bulletin board

Posted in Uncategorized by scarsonmsm on December 9, 2006

I don’t plan to dwell on it in this space, but many close to our family know that my son was recently diagnosed with a Wilms tumor. He underwent surgery on November 8th and is currently undergoing chemotherapy. He’s done well with the treatments so far.

I note it here for a few reasons: first, it is the reason for the blogging silence in November; second, to note that my wife and I have been seeking a Wilms tumor support bulletin board and haven’t found any, so I’ve started one under the tOFP domain at http://www.tofp.org/wilmsbb/; and third, I want to use my Google karma here to draw attention to it.

It does connect tangentially with my educational technology world in that I grabbed a copy of phpBB to set it up, and I’m really loving the tool. With the hosting and mySQL in place already for tOFP, it really took me less than an hour to get it up and running, including setting up the initial forums. The administration is completely straightforward and the interface is really nice.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] So I uploaded an update to tOFP site last night including some minor edits and navigation changes, a more expanded Amazon.com partners integration (including a new link on the sidebar here). I’ve also decided I like phpBB so much, I put up a forum space for tOFP. We’ll see if I or anyone else actually uses it, besides the ever-active spammers. There is a special place in hell… […]

  2. […] I mentioned a while back that my son had been diagnosed with cancer (Wilms’ tumor) and was undergoing treatment. Didn’t want to leave that issue completely hanging in this space, so here’s an update: Daniel completed an 18 week course of chemotherapy with no complications. Last week, he had scans indicating no evidence of disease, and had his venous access port removed in a brief surgery. Lori and I are tremendously relieved to have made it to this point with no complications and are optimistic that this treatment will result in a cure. Daniel will have scans repeated every three months for three years, and then every six months for three more. […]

  3. […] Before I went to the Global Social Benefit Incubator last July, I had finally finished rewriting the portion of the novel I had completed in graduate school ten (gulp) years ago. I had always had a little bit of superstitious about reaching this point, about what I’m not entirely sure, but since reaching that point in the novel, I set it aside to concentrate on work a little, and then Daniel was diagnosed. One family crisis later, I am finally at a place where I want to be working on the novel again. I’m not sure I have the time, really, but it’s sort of a sanity thing, so I’m carving out my morning train rise for it, and plan to go as long as I can. […]


Leave a Reply

