OpenFiction [Blog]

tOFP forum note

Posted in Uncategorized by scarsonmsm on March 19, 2007

The OpenFiction Project clearly doesn’t have an audience either big enough to support the use of the forum, or interested in using a forum at this point. Because all the registrations are spammers and I don’t have the bandwidth to be deleting all of them, I’ve disabled the forum for now. If I use the site for teaching at some future point, I may re-enable the forum, but in the mean time, if you are interested in using it (for your writing group or other related activity) and you are willing to put forth some effort in moderating the forum, let me know and I’ll reactivate it.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. elephantman68 said, on March 21, 2007 at 8:39 am

    That’s an understandable decision, but having just found your site by accident I can’t help but wonder how much you’re out there promoting this feature. It’s probably a lot but is it enough? I’m looking forward to checking out your blog and I hope it will be useful for me and other writers I know.

  2. Stephen Carson said, on March 21, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    I’m not really “promoting” the site. The site is more of an experiment in open sharing than any kind of a profit-making enterprise. If you and other writers get interested enough in the materials to make use of the site and forum, let me know and I’ll reactivate it. You’ll just have to be willing to take on some of the effort in moderating it and removing spammers… Would love to know what of the course materials and blog you do find to be helpful, if anything.

  3. elephantman68 said, on March 21, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Not everything needs to be done for profit. I’m just saying that if people don’t know something is out there, it’s difficult to create a community around it. I’ll look through the site and see what appeals to me. I like the basic idea of it.


Leave a Reply

