OpenFiction [Blog]

Closing the loop

Posted in Uncategorized by scarsonmsm on April 15, 2007

I mentioned a while back that my son had been diagnosed with cancer (Wilms’ tumor) and was undergoing treatment. Didn’t want to leave that issue completely hanging in this space, so here’s an update: Daniel completed an 18 week course of chemotherapy with no complications. Last week, he had scans indicating no evidence of disease, and had his venous access port removed in a brief surgery. Lori and I are tremendously relieved to have made it to this point with no complications and are optimistic that this treatment will result in a cure. Daniel will have scans repeated every three months for three years, and then every six months for three more. Thanks to everyone who has supported our family during this crisis.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sarudolph said, on April 18, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Stephen,

    Several years ago I was one of your students at Emerson, where I attended the WLP evening degree program. I just stumbled upon your blog as I was searching for your name among Emerson faculty because I was thinking of applying for a position there and wanted to see if some of the same people still worked in that department. Anyway, after reading a few of your entries, I just want to tell you how sorry I am that your family had to go through the illness of your son, but how happy I am to hear that all seems to be well. You really supported me, my writing and my goals when I was a student, and I truly appreciate it.

    Stefanie

  2. Stephen Carson said, on April 18, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Stefanie,

    Thanks so much for the message and the kind thoughts. This has been a difficult time for my family, but we are also very lucky that things have gone well so far and Daniel is happy and feeling well. I do remember you as a student and really enjoyed your writing–it’s nice to hear that I was helpful as an instructor.

    Steve


Leave a Reply

